Treatment Tuesday: Cupping

The internet has been taken by storm with news of cupping treatments. Just like many trendy luxuries, this is not a new phenomenon and  is an ancient practice.

For those of you who don’t know, cupping is uses as a means to promote blood flow and help detox the skin. This is done by using cups to create suction on the skin (think love bite type suction). This can be done using heat or pressure to create suction. This is done on the back and can leave bruise like marks, but soon fade after  few days. The suction causes your blood vessels and encourage healing and detox of the skin.

I’m always  fan of trying something new, so I decided to give it a go. I went down to the Maple Salon in Chinatown, London and let the therapist work her magic.

My treatment started with a 1 hour thai body massage which was amazing, she then proceeded to use plastic cups on my back and used pulleys to create suction (kind of like a syringe). After the cups were sucked onto my back, I was left for 30 minutes to relax. Unlike a massage, it is a very passive treatment which is why it felt so strange, but once the cups were popped of my back, it felt like taking your heels off after a night out. My body was so relaxed. My back is currently cover in round love bite type marks, which means it definitely works!

Overall I would recommend this treatment if you if you have an achy back and want to try something new. It’s a great way to pep yourself up if you feeling a little tense. I would not suggest this treatment if you have a heavy work load after because you will most likely fall asleep.

If you’re in London, check out Maple Salon, the service there is fantastic. There are many different kinds of cupping treatments and mine was heat free, feel free to look around and decide which treatment you want to try.

https://www.maplesalon.com/

If you want to get an idea of fire cupping, check out this Buzzfeed video:

 

Leave a Reply

